Clearing Out the Clutter

Lately, I have been focused on keeping my room consistently clean, a very daunting task for me.  I am notorious for throwing my clothes on the floor at times (ok, ok, often) after undressing, because I am “too tired” or “too busy” to properly put them away in drawers/hang them up.

Time and time again, I think to myself how much better I would feel if I just got rid of the clutter and mess in my room.  I would be able to move around my room effortlessly and actually be able to access the outfit I would like to wear on a particular day without rummaging through piles of clothes, stressed and frustrated.  There are times, as well, when I forget I even have a certain article of clothing because it may be hiding under my bed!

I am sure that many of you can relate to at least part of my story.  Often, I listen to my peers discuss their dreaded projects to clean their home/office and, I also come across blogs that frequently talk about the benefits of a well-organized/tidy environment.

However, how often do we think about decluttering our minds?  It’s incomprehensible to imagine how much information our brains are retaining, processing, and filtering at any given time.   Even more, this information has endless layers that go as far back to when we were born.  Our brains, although amazing, have to work so tirelessly all the time to contain all these thoughts and at the same time create new ones while analyzing new messages being presented to us.

Most of us try and keep lists and tasks in our heads throughout the day, while at the same time daydreaming about someone or something, communicating, performing our work related duties, reading, writing, and so much more!

How can our minds be efficient and creative when we are bogged down with so much clutter?  How can we have the space in our minds to generate new ideas and expand on and access thoughts that are not at the forefront of our thinking?

The answer:  We cannot.

There is only a limited number of information our brains can retain at one time, so that’s where mind mapping comes in as a way to map out our ideas that are at the forefront, so there is room for more innovative and imaginative thoughts to surface.  Then, you can add the new ideas to the map and continue generating more.  Also, your mind will be able to relax which is vital for productivity and creativity.  If you are overwhelmed with racing thoughts, you will not be as efficient and inventive.

Leave a Reply

